• May 20, 2025, 04:10:15 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: command to reset from (linux) command line ?  (Read 10480 times)

zim2dive

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
command to reset from (linux) command line ?
« on: January 04, 2010, 12:05:36 PM »

Given the limited reliability I am seeing so far with my 655, I am thinking I would start running a diagnostic script as a cron job on my linux box that verifies the ability to connect outside, every 20 minutes.  With a previous Netgear router (which was known to overheat and lock up, even tho it was on a wire shelf with no airflow obstacles), I could reboot with something like:

curl -u user:password -m 10 -d connect=Reboot 10.0.0.1

I'm thinking I should be able to puzzle out an equivalent for the 655, just checking to see if anyone already has and can share their command.

thanks,
Mike
Logged

EddieZ

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2494
Re: command to reset from (linux) command line ?
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2010, 01:21:43 PM »

The DIR isn't a Linux based router. I'm not Linux oriented, but I guess that would make it quite difficult...
And the router is not FTP or Telnet enabled...
« Last Edit: January 04, 2010, 01:23:57 PM by EddieZ »
Logged
DIR-655 H/W: A2 FW: 1.33

zim2dive

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: command to reset from (linux) command line ?
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2010, 01:24:34 PM »

This has nothing to do with the OS of the router.. my linux box would simply be issuing an HTTP access to the correct URL on the router to cause the reset.

It would be the equivalent of the direct URL (if possible) that you would paste into any browser that would take a user directly not only TO the reset page but also "press" the reset button, without stopping at the user/password authentication page.

I'm 95% certain its possible, just a matter of puzzling out the required URL.
Logged

EddieZ

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2494
Re: command to reset from (linux) command line ?
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2010, 02:43:27 PM »

This has nothing to do with the OS of the router.. my linux box would simply be issuing an HTTP access to the correct URL on the router to cause the reset.

It would be the equivalent of the direct URL (if possible) that you would paste into any browser that would take a user directly not only TO the reset page but also "press" the reset button, without stopping at the user/password authentication page.

I'm 95% certain its possible, just a matter of puzzling out the required URL.

You noticed that I'm not a Linux animal... ;)
Logged
DIR-655 H/W: A2 FW: 1.33

zim2dive

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: command to reset from (linux) command line ?
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2010, 05:42:29 PM »

You noticed that I'm not a Linux animal... ;)

No worries, just didn't want folks to this this was a dead end.

Ok, I think I have it now
Quote
curl -u admin:pwd -m 10 "http://192.168.1.1/reboot.cgi?reset=false"

WARNING: I *believe* reset=true will also reset to factory settings when it reboots (made this mistake)

In theory the reboot could be accomplished with other command line tools such as lynx, etc.  This would work from linux, MacOSX, and could probably be done with Perl under Windows.
Logged